Watch: 2012 PVAC Demonstration - Ascending Aggies

Awards in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

MAE receives local and national recognition for its outstanding students, faculty, department, and research. 

National Design Competitions



Other awards and recognition

Dr. Robert Spall was chosen as both the USU College of Engineering and the Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department Teacher of the Year in 2013.

Dr. Barton Smith was named the USU College of Engineering Teacher of the Year in 2012 as well as the USU Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department Teacher of the Year.

Dr. Heng Ban was elected by members of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) to be the Secretary of the Executive Committee of the Materials Science and Technology Division.

Dr. Barton Smith was given the ASME Lewis F. Moody Award (Best Paper, Fluids Division) in 2011.

Nine students on the USU Getaway Special Team, primarily from MAE and co-advised by Dr. Heng Ban, were selected by NASA to conduct experiments in NASA's Microgravity University aboard the "Vomit Comet."

Dr. Tony Whitmore was selected as the 2009 Utah Engineering Educator of the Year. He was nominated again for 2010 by the ASME Utah Section. 

Several MAE Faculty are invited to sit on National Review Boards for NASA, AFRL, DOE, and other government agencies’ projects.

MAE considers it a tremendous award that our students are competitively employed and interned by Idaho National Laboratories, AFRL Labs, Johnson Space Center, Draper Laboratory, ATK, Lockheed Martin Space Systems, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, and many other industry leaders.